XC: Lawler and McGrath grab TAIAO individual titles while Austin Griffin School wins both team crowns

Fort Worth Bethesda Christian senior Ethan Lawler and Bulverde Gloria Deo Academy junior Libby McGrath captured the 2019 TAIAO state cross country championships on Saturday, October 26 at The Buff in Haltom City.

Lawler beat Tyler Home Education Athletics of Tyler (HEAT)’s Henry Hasz by just eight seconds to win the 5,000-meter race in 17:23. Hasz crossed the finish line in 17:31 while Austin Griffin School senior Knox Alvarez was a distant third in 18:13. Alvarez held off sophomore teammate Jennings Wilson by three seconds for the final boys’ podium spot.

McGrath cruised to the girls title as she covered the 3,200-meter course in 11:42. A pair of sophomores, Fort Worth Bethesda Christian’s Katie Goodwin and Austin Griffin School’s Saran Winslett, battled it out for the final two podium spots as Goodwin was second in 14:17 while Winslett followed in 14:50.

Austin Griffin School’s boys and girls won the team titles. The boys won over Tyler HEAT and San Antonio The Winston School, while the girls were the only school that had five girls cross the finish line.

Complete results can be found on Texas Milesplit at the following link.