XC: Avila-Martinez, Hatfield Earn Top LSCSN Awards on All-State Teams

The Lone Star Christian Sports Network (LSCSN.com) is pleased to announce its 2019 Texas Private and Parochial All-State Cross Country teams.

Led by our resident runner and race announcer Jon Walk, LSCSN selected its top 21 boys and 21 girls from the Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS), the Southwest Preparatory Conference (SPC), the Texas Christian Athletic League (T-CAL), the Texas Christian Athletic Fellowship (TCAF), the Texas Charter School Academic and Athletic League (TCSAAL) and the Texas State Homeschool Cross Country meets.

The top individual male and female runner will be recognized as Mr. and Miss Texas Private School Cross Country.

The fastest times from all of the organization’s state meets didn’t necessarily land any runner on the first, second or third team, but rather runners’ entire body of work throughout the 2019 season, which may include the strength of the competing fields as well as head-to-head competition between two or more runners.

Earning our designation of Mr. and Miss Texas Private School Cross Country are Austin San Juan Diego Catholic School’s Abraham Avila-Martinez and Addison Greenhill School’s Maddie Hatfield.

Avila-Martinez won the TAPPS 2A state title for the second straight year, but fared well against some of the best runners in Texas at the following meets: Friday Night Lights (in The Woodlands), (Flower Mound) Marcus Invitational, Southlake Carroll Invitational and the largest meet in Texas, the Round Rock McNeil Invitational.

Abraham posted his personal best of 15:11.9 while finishing second at the McNeil meet with a head-to-head win over fellow private school state champions, Ben Shearer of The Woodlands Christian Academy and Julian Baeza of Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal School – in addition to finishing just four seconds out of first to Flower Mound’s Jarrett Kirk.

Hatfield, who signed a national letter of intent last week to compete collegiately at East Carolina University, had top ten finishes in meets hosted by Southlake Carroll, Denton Guyer and Texas Milesplit and Round Rock McNeil, before finishing the year with three straight wins, including the SPC Championship.

Maddie’s top performance – aside from her wins – came at the Texas MileSplit Invitational hosted by Denton Guyer when she ran to a second-place finish in 17:30, including a seven-second advantage over Flower Mound’s talented sophomore Natalie Cook, who finished fifth overall at the UIL 6A state meet.

Our Coaches of the Year are San Antonio Antonian College Prepartory’s Devlyn Lovell for the boys and Addison Greenhill School’s Jason Yaffe for the girls.

Lovell’s Apaches won the TAPPS 6A for the third straight year with a 53-point over Houston St. Thomas that featured the best 1-5 split (00:51.5) of any school on the podium in a private and parochial school state meet.

And while Houston St. Agnes Academy, coached by Kristi Robbins, won its second straight TAPPS 6A crown in crushing fashion with a 0:25.5 1-5 split, Yaffe guided the Hornets to their first girls SPC championship since 1985.

Listed below, in alphabetical order with the various teams, are our selections for the best in non-UIL programs and organizations.

First Team – Girls
Ellie Catron, Sr., The Woodlands Christian Academy
Katie Cline, Jr., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal School
Maddie Hatfield, Sr., Addison Greenhill School
Amanda Hogan, So., Ursuline Academy of Dallas
Krianne McBride, So., Leander Texas Home School
Lesli Salas, Fr., San Angelo Cornerstone Christian
Victoria Schmidt, So., Episcopal School of Dallas

First Team – Boys
Andres Arroyo, Sr., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
Pablo Arroyo, Sr., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
Abraham Avila-Martinez, Sr., Austin San Juan Diego Catholic School
Julian Baeza, Sr., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal School
Sam Bass, Sr., Oklahoma City (Okla.) Casady School
Jonathan Cantu, Sr., Dallas Bishop Dunne Catholic School
Ben Shearer, Jr., The Woodlands Christian Academy

Second Team – Girls
Kate Freeman, So., Bellaire Episcopal High School
Joy Gill, So., San Antonio Home School Spartans
KayCee Keller, Jr., San Antonio FEAST Home School
Kat Kwiatowski, So., Bellaire Episcopal High School
Camille Napier, So., Houston St. Agnes Academy
Kaiti Ness, Sr., Addison Greenhill School
Paige Wohlgemuth, Sr., Leander Texas Home School

Second Team – Boys
Cooper Cawthra, Sr., Westlake Academy
Jackson Long, Sr., Austin St. Michael’s Catholic Academy
Henry Lynn, Jr., Fort Worth Country Day School
Will McDermott, Jr., The Woodlands John Cooper School
Emmanuel Sgouros, So., Houston St. John’s School
Paul Sherrill, Sr., Cedar Park Summit Christian Academy
Davis Thames, Sr., Houston St. John’s School

Third Team – Girls
Laura Behr, Jr., Houston The Kinkaid School
Alexandra Blake, Sr., Houston The Kinkaid School
Amelie Born, Jr., Houston St. Agnes Academy
Alyssa Harris, Jr., Lewisville Founders Classical Academy
Emily Heinz, Jr., Houston St. Agnes Academy
Reagan High, So., Fort Worth Southwest Christian School
Leena Mehendale, So., Dallas The Hockaday School

Third Team – Boys
Sahil Dodda, So., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
Hunter Haynes, Jr., San Antonio Antonian College Preparatory
Gerardo Munoz, IDEA Pharr College Prep
Tyler Nussbaumer, Sr., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
Sawyer Parker, So., Fort Worth Country Day School
Alex Spencer, Sr., Lubbock Southcrest Christian School
Benjamin Tijerina, So., San Antonio Antonian College Preparatory