LSCSN Releases Inaugural All-Texas Private School Cross Country Teams

HOUSTON — The Lone Star Christian Sports Network is pleased to announce its inaugural All-Texas Private Schools Cross Country Teams.

Runners from the Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS), the Southwest Preparatory Conference (SPC), the Texas Christian Athletic League (T-CAL), the Texas Christian Athletic Fellowship (TCAF) and those who competed at the Texas State Homeschool Cross Country meet in Brenham in late October were considered.

While state championship meet results were the primary guides in selecting the squads, a runner’s overall body of work, including time improvements throughout the year as well as any head to head competition outside of the state meets were also considered.

Attempts were also made to compare the different distances run by female runners as a handful of TAPPS’ top runners ran two miles the entire year as opposed to SPC athletes who primarily ran 5,000 meters.

This was the case because of the differences in the distance at those organization’s state meets.

Three teams of seven of each gender – the same format used at the NXN Regionals held each November in The Woodlands two weeks after the UIL state meet – were chosen as well as an All-Underclassmen team of freshmen and sophomores who were not selected as one of the top 21 runners in the state.

We also selected two coaches – one who coached each gender – to be our Coaches of the Year.

Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal School’s Paul Carrozza was our choice for the boys and Dallas Ursuline Academy’s Jonathan Moody was our pick for the girls.

Carrozzza took a squad that finished 12th in 2014 and guided them to a second place finish in 2015, third last year and this year’s SPC championship dethroning Houston St. John’s School, who won the last three years.

Meanwhile, Moody’s Bears won the school’s 15th TAPPS state championship since 1991 with its 40 points being the lowest in winning since Ursuline’s 2002 title – and would have dominated a virtual meet of all TAPPS schools at the state meet.

Our runner-ups for Coaches of the Year were easily The Woodlands Christian Academy’s Tom Earle for the boys and Dallas The Hockaday School’s La’Boris Bean for the girls.

Our selections for Mr. and Miss Texas Private School Cross Country are Fort Worth Christian’s Carter Cheeseman, who transferred into the area from suburban Nashville, Tennessee where he ran for Brentwood Academy and posted the fastest private school times in Texas this season, and Argyle Liberty Christian’s Elizabeth Reneau, who won her fourth straight individual TAPPS state title, signed her national letter of intent with Duke University and won her only head-to-head meeting with Dallas Hockaday School’s Adoette Vaughn.

Please meet below the 56 athletes – 28 boys and 28 girls – that we bestow our honors on for the 2017 high school cross country season.

Lone Star Christian Sports Network ( All-Texas Private School Cross Country Teams

First Team
Daniel Brickman, Sr., Dallas Greenhill School
Crayton Carrozza, Jr., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal
Carter Cheeseman, Jr., Fort Worth Christian
Travis Dowd, Jr., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal
Jackson Long, So., Austin St. Michael’s Catholic
Luke Estes, Sr., San Antonio Christian School
Drew Woodfolk, Sr., Houston St. John’s School

Mr. Texas Private School Cross Country:  Carter Cheeseman, Fort Worth Chrisitan
Coach of the Year
:  Paul Carrozza, Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal

Second Team
Andres Arroyo, So., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
Sam Bass, So., Oklahoma City Casady School
Sam Faraguna, Jr., Houston St. John’s School
Samuel Ho, Sr., Houston St. John’s School
Brandon Seagraves, Jr., El Paso Cathedral
Seth Weprin, Jr., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
DZ Zavitsanos, Sr., Houston Kinkaid School

Third Team
Alexandre Ait-Ettajer, Sr., Houston The Village School
Philip Chang, Jr., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal
Chandon Chhikara, Sr., Austin St. Andrew’s Episcopal
Alex De La Maza, Sr., Spring Frassati Catholic
Habtamu Geta, Jr., League City Bay Area Christian
Jordan Gledhill, Sr., Argyle Liberty Christian
Socs Zavitsanos, Sr., Houston Kinkaid School

Abraham Avila-Martinez, So., Austin San Juan Diego Catholic
Julian Baeza, So., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal
Martin Chavez, Fr., Dallas Bishop Dunne Catholic
Julian Ivarra, Fr., Dallas St. Mark’s School of Texas
Josh Mueck, Fr., The Woodlands Christian Academy
Jayan Nitzsche, Fr., Austin St. Stephen’s Episcopal
Ben Shearer, Fr., The Woodlands Christian Academy

First Team
Alison Bryant, Sr., Fort Worth Nolan Catholic
Celia Holmes, Sr., Waco Live Oak Classical School
Caroline Miller, Sr., Dallas Ursuline Academy
Emily Mount, Sr., Dallas Ursuline Academy
Kaiti Ness, So., Dallas Greenhill School
Elizabeth Reneau, Sr., Argyle Liberty Christian
Adoette Vaughan, Jr., Dallas Hockaday School

Miss Texas Private School Cross Country:  Elizabeth Reneau, Argyle Liberty Christian
Coach of the Year:
  Jonathan Moody, Dallas Ursuline Academy

Second Team
Madison Brown, Jr., Round Rock Christian Academy
Ellie Catron, So., The Woodlands Christian Academy
Caroline Forbess, Sr., Dallas Hockaday School
Brianna Gallaher, Jr., Bellville Faith Academy
Jordan Kramer, Sr., Houston St. John’s School
Sara Price, Fr., Houston St. Agnes Academy
Camila Vicens, So., Houston Kinkaid School

Third Team
Allison Albert, Jr., Dallas Ursuline Academy
Parker Hawk, Jr., Dallas Hockaday School
Giovanna Pisano, Fr., San Antonio Antonian
Elizabeth Raff, Sr., Dallas Hockaday School
Emily Rosilier, So., San Antonio Antonian
Ana Ross, Sr., San Antonio TMI-The Episcopal School of Texas
Natalia Saenz, So., Regents School of Austin

Kathryn Bowers, Fr., Dallas Hockaday School
Maddie Hatfield, So., Dallas Greenhill School
Emily Jasek, So., The Woodlands Christian Academy
Micah Ketterling, Fr., San Antonio Cornerstone Christian
Sophia Mathis, Fr., Oklahoma City Casady School
Erin Mazza, So., Plano John Paul II
Caroline Phelps, So., Fort Worth Trinity Valley School